Lauren’s Reflection :: A month on the road

I think that it’s important through this journey that both George and I take a chance to reflect on our adventure so far. Although we have been one the road since August 9th, we’ve been in Europe for a little over a month. It’s definitely been a different ride this time around for me. The last time I was in Europe, I was studying abroad, had my own space, I was on my own time and could go and do as I pleased. This time, it’s very different being around another person for literally 24/7 who has never traveled extensively. There have definitely been some ups and downs.

I have to say, George was not prepared for this trip at all. He definitely didn’t know what he was getting himself into between the hostels, lack of privacy, constant moving around and the amount of money we were spending. I’ve been trying my best to ride with the rollercoaster of emotions that he is going through as well as what I’m going through and experiencing. All in all, after all this time, he seems to be more at ease with what we are doing and has become a great travel companion. Sleep also helps 🙂

For me, I have learned that there will ALWAYS be that one snorer in every dorm room that you want to throttle. Ear plugs are way more comfortable than listening to them snore all night. American music will always dominate in every country. I truly hate Robin Thicke’s “Blurred Lines” song. Wearing make-up when it’s raining is overrated. I am more tolerant than I used to be. George and I balance each other out well. The countryside is becoming better than the big cities. A smile and patience will get you everywhere.

We’ll see where we’re at in another month after a few more travels. For now, stay tuned as we work though Scandinavia and the rest of continental Europe.

Let it all out.

